Slovak Words of the day (probably also month)

I know, I know.  I have been very lazy.  I haven’t really learned a new Slovak word a day over the last several months.  I’m embarrassed and I’m not proud of it.  I will not give myself any excuses.  It was really all my fault.  I did, however, write down a few Slovak words that I frequently encounter.  Any tips on how not to be lazy?

Bude – It will be (infinitive form)

Budem – I will be

Ponuka – Offer

Dovera – Trust

Potreba – Need, Potreby – Needs

Potrebujem – I need

Riešenie – Solution

Dohoda – Agreement

Nedohoda – Disagreement

Vyjednávanie – Negotiation

Pripraviť sa – to prepare,  Pripaveny – Prepared

Slobodny – Single

ľudia – People

človek – Person

Miestnosť – Room, miestnosti (plural)

12 thoughts on “Slovak Words of the day (probably also month)

  1. Hi there,
    That is so nice that you learn slovak!!! I am glad fo you, really! And tips how not to be lazy do not exist, I fight that problem myself. Perhaps you might try to use an interactive methods or songs, whatever you like to gain inspiration! Inspiration is a really good way how to win over the laziness.
    But I really like that you post your slovak words of the day/week etc. It brings the language closer.

    Just by the way: dôvera, slobodný, pripravený and a word “nedohoda” does not exist. We prefer “nezhoda”/”nesúhlas”

    • Ahoj Fraindeline! Thanks for the suggestions. 🙂 Yeah I do like a few Slovak songs so I think that’s a good idea. About those words that you mentioned do not exist, what do you mean by that? I’ve heard my Slovak friends and colleagues use those words many times. Are they slang words?

      • Well, those might be “slang”, but usually it is caused by the fact that people create their own words. They are not in the dictionary. You know how we give a prefix NE- in front of the words, when we create an opposite meaning, it is not true in some cases, there are exeptions,(which might be clumsy or differ in meaning) but people do not seem to mind. 😀 Nedohoda is a bit clumsy, not used often. But it is alright in the spoken language, when it fits the situation.
        I have read that you live in Bratislava. How do you like it there?

  2. The best way to stay motivated is to give yourself some kind of reward.

    I’d love to see the word of the day come back, because I will be learning and using them, too. 🙂

  3. Man, just get off your butt! When you’re procrastinating, ask yourself whether what you’re doing at that moment is on any way worth the nagging mental feeling of not getting done the tasks in the back of your head…

Leave a Reply

