I am 33

Back in February this year, I decided to challenge  myself by coming up with a list of 33 things to accomplish before I turn 33.  Well, here I am just hours away from turning 33 as I’m writing this.  I guess now is a good time for me to reflect on what I have and haven’t done this year.  Out of the 33 things I wanted to do, I managed to complete only 9.  That’s quite bad.  I’m ashamed of myself to be honest.  You see, I have this really bad habit (among many others) of not finishing what I’ve started.  So this is what I’m going to do.  I will complete the rest of the things on my list while I’m 33.  The challenge now is 33 things to do at 33.  Yeah, I know it’s a bit lame but I really want to complete all of them.  Some of the things on my list are very important to me such as learning Slovak.   A student of mine told me that instead of learning one word a day (which I very often failed to do), I should learn one phrase or sentence a day.  I like that idea.  Now I just have to find ways to motivate myself.  I always think of having to speak only in Slovak language to the ill-tempered and unfriendly Slovak immigration officers who don’t speak a word of English.  That usually motivates me.

Oh and to all my blog readers (yes, I have like 3 loyal blog readers)  I want to thank you for all your support and encouragement over the last months.  It is so motivating to hear I inspire you to do the same or that you are learning Slovak language with me.  Of course my friends and students have been wonderful too.  I know that they know I have a blog and that I’m pretty sure they don’t read it.   And I’m wondering how many of them will go, “Hah! I told you you wouldn’t be able to finish your tasks. We know you too well, Hon!”

8 thoughts on “I am 33

  1. Vsetko Naj Hon! Spend your birthday doing one of the 33 on the list!! Have fun x

  2. Všetko najlepšie k narodeninám. 🙂

    I now know about those foreign police officers. I took a handwritten sign with me when I went there. Then the officer spoke English to me!

    • Dakujem pekny! 🙂 How’s your Slovak? You were really lucky you had an officer who could speak English. 🙂 Maybe things are finally changing for the better at the foreign police office.

  3. Good luck on the revised goal! Just try not to revise it again…

  4. So, looks like you’re coming up to the one-year anniversary of the revised goal. How did it go?
    I hope you had an enjoyable and fruitful year in any event, regardless of the personal goals.

    • Hey Dave! Thanks for your message. 🙂 It’s been a rather hectic year indeed but in a good way. I haven’t forgotten my goals. Still working on them! 🙂 Will post an update soon. I hope you’re doing well. Thanks for checking in and support. You’re awesome!

      • Good to know, man. Glad to read that you’re fine and that your attitude is as positive and refreshing as ever. Yeah, hectic can sometimes be good.

Leave a Reply

